---
"@context": https://schema.org
"@type": TechArticle
"@id": https://www.twilio.com/docs/segment/privacy/account-deletion#article
headline: Account & Data Deletion
description: Delete Segment data for an individual user, a source, a Unify space, or an entire workspace. Learn the deletion steps, grace periods, and complete data purge.
url: https://www.twilio.com/docs/segment/privacy/account-deletion
inLanguage: en
dateModified: 2026-07-01T13:16:56.000Z
author:
  "@type": Organization
  name: Twilio Developer Education Team
publisher:
  "@type": Organization
  name: Twilio
---

# Account & Data Deletion

Segment allows you to delete specific data relating to an individual end user, all data associated with a source, all data related to a Unify space, or all data in your entire workspace.

## Delete individual user data

To delete the data for an individual user from your workspace, follow the instructions on the [User Deletion and Suppression](/docs/segment/privacy/user-deletion-and-suppression) page.

## Delete data from a source

To delete the data for an entire source, email the Customer Success team [(friends@segment.com)](mailto:friends@segment.com) to create a support ticket. In your email to Customer Success, include the following information:

* Your workplace slug
* The source from which you'd like to delete data
* The time frame for the data you'd like to delete\*

*Due to the way Segment stores data internally, source-level deletions can only be scoped to one day in granularity. Deletion requests for smaller time frames are not supported.*

> \[!NOTE]
>
> When Segment deletes your data for a particular source, the deletion is not forwarded to sources or data storage providers associated with your account: your data is only removed from Segment's S3 archive buckets. To remove your data from external sources, reach out to the individual source about their deletion practices.

## Delete the data from a Unify space

Workspace Owners can delete a Unify space and all of its profiles, computed traits, audiences, journeys, and other settings.

To delete a Unify space:

1. Sign in to the Segment app and select **Unify**.
2. From the Profile explorer page of your most recently selected Unify space, select **Spaces**.
3. On the Spaces tab, find the space you'd like to delete and click **Delete**.
4. Enter the space name and click **Delete space**.

> \[!TIP]
>
> If you are unable to delete your Unify space, send an email to Segment's Customer Success Team [(friends@segment.com)](mailto:friends@segment.com) with your workspace slug and the name of the Unify space you'd like to delete.

Segment does not begin a Unify space deletion until 5 calendar days after you initiate a deletion request. If you would like to reverse your space deletion request, you must cancel your request during the 5 calendar days after your initial request. Once Segment deletes a Unify space, it can't be recovered.

### Cancel a Unify space deletion request

If you want to cancel your Unify space deletion request:

1. Sign in to the Segment app and select **Unify**.
2. From the Profile explorer page of your most recently selected Unify space, select **Spaces**.
3. On the Spaces tab, find the space you'd like to cancel the deletion of and click **Cancel deletion**.

> \[!WARNING]
>
> Unify space deletion doesn't delete data from connected Twilio Engage destinations. To remove your data from external destinations, reach out to the individual destination about their deletion practices.

### Delete profile event data in a Unify space

By default, Segment retains event data in your Unify space indefinitely.

To enforce your workspace's retention policy on Unify profile event data, go to **Settings > Data Retention** and turn on the **Enable data retention for Profiles** setting.

When you turn this setting on, Segment permanently deletes all *profile event data* that falls outside of your workspace's source event retention period. Profiles aren't deleted. To learn more about data deletion, see Segment [Data Retention and Deletion Policy](/docs/segment/privacy/data-retention-policy).

> \[!WARNING]
>
> Features that rely on historical events may be affected. This includes:
>
> * Audience backfills
> * Computed trait recomputation
> * Journey evaluation for profiles whose qualifying events fall outside the retention window

## Delete your workspace data

Workspace admins can delete all of the data associated with a workspace, including customer data.

To delete all data from one workspace:

1. Sign in to the Segment app, select the workspace you'd like to delete, and click **Settings**.
2. On the General Settings page, click the **Delete Workspace** button.
3. Follow the prompts on the pop-up to delete your workspace.

Segment will irrevocably delete your workspace 5 days after you initiate your deletion request.

If you want to revoke the workspace deletion request during the 5 days after you initiated your request, open the [Workspace Settings](https://app.segment.com/goto-my-workspace/settings/basic) page, select the **General Settings** tab and click **Revoke Workspace Deletion**.

To delete data from all workspaces in which you have workspace admin permissions:

1. Sign in to the Segment app.
2. Go to the [User Settings page](https://app.segment.com/settings/user).
3. Click the **Delete Account** button, located at the bottom of the page.
4. On the popup, enter your password and select **Yep, delete my account anyway!** to delete your account.

After you delete your workspace or account, Segment removes all data associated with each workspace within 30 days in a process called a [complete data purge](#what-is-a-complete-data-purge). For a data purge status update, email the Customer Success team [(friends@segment.com)](mailto:friends@segment.com).

If you don't delete your workspace after you stop using Segment, **your data remains in Segment's internal servers until you submit a written deletion request**.

> \[!WARNING]
>
> If you deleted your workspace prior to March 31, 2022, and would like to have data associated with your workspace purged from Segment's S3 archive buckets, email the Customer Success team [(friends@segment.com)](mailto:friends@segment.com) to create a support ticket. In your email to Customer Success, include either the slug or the ID of the workspace you'd like to have purged from internal Segment servers.

### What is a complete data purge?

A complete data purge is the way Segment removes all workspace and customer data from internal servers across all product areas. To trigger a complete data purge, either [delete your workspace](#delete-your-workspace-data) or raise a support ticket with the Customer Success team by emailing [(friends@segment.com)](mailto:friends@segment.com). In your email to Customer Success, include either the slug or the ID of the workspace that you'd like to delete. Deletions related to data purges will *not* be forwarded to your connected third-party destinations or raw data destinations.

> \[!CAUTION]
>
> Segment waits for five calendar days before beginning a complete data purge to safeguard against malicious deletion requests. If you notice your workspace or account has been maliciously deleted, reach out to [friends@segment.com](mailto:friends@segment.com) to cancel the data purge. After the five-day grace period, the deletion will be irreversible.
